Chapter 16 ~ Betrayal and Revealing

The band of soldiers stopped. It was night and darkness was closing in on them.
“Should we stop here?” one of them asked.
“Yes, I think this would be a good place to rest for the night,” Maethorion said. They all stopped under a grove of trees. The wind howled fiercely but they stayed warm around the fire. The trees waved liked ancient grass and Nieriel stared into the darkness.
“Are you anxious?” Maethorion asked.
“Yes, I suppose,” she answered quietly. Maethorion looked at the other soldiers, rather alarmed at her nonchalant behavior.
“I know you don’t want to come. It has been easy so far, but the terrain worsens and a growing mysteriousness about this place. I know very little about this man, but what I hear is very strange. Where we came from, up North, we had many legends of strange folk. There were stories of men that turned into lions, or who breathed fire, but never was there a story such as this.”
“Maethorion, perhaps we should rest now,” she replied.
“Is there something bothering you that I should know about?” he asked.
The men were off searching for wood. It was silent, save the trees.
“Perhaps. But it really has nothing to do with you,” she said.
“It seems to weigh heavy on your mind. Maybe it would help to tell me something of your distress.”
“It isn’t really distress. You see,” she stopped short. “It is a long story and we must get rest.”
“You will not receive any rest in this condition. Tell me what is on your mind,” he answered.
“Well, I suppose.” She stared again into the growing darkness. Something seemed to call out to her, a voice from her past. Never had she spoken these words; she had never even dreamed of it, but something drew her to tell these things. Maethorion seemed trust-worthy and noble.
“Long ago, I lived in a land far away. It was a beautiful place and I still remember much of it. The land was perfect and the sun was always shining. We had no notion of war and our lands were at peace. I grew up very happily. Then my mother died. It happened so strangely and I didn’t really understand that she had died until my father told me. Everything seemed to be hidden from me and I understood very little of what he and my brothers talked about. Then one evening he told me. I wasn’t a real person, I was a goddess.” Maethorion drew back quickly as if by impulse.
“That is exactly why we decided not to tell anyone. It would upset and worry them. After my mother died, we all split up. I came to the Southern Falls, my brothers went to other villages of which I am not entirely sure where, and my father went,” she stopped.
“Your father went to Sathrion. So he is the King of the West, isn’t he?” Maethorion interrupted.
“Yes, he is,” she said quietly.
“But, why didn’t Glandur say anything?”
“Because he has sworn secrecy to the point of death. He took me in when I went North, before I came to the Southern Falls.”
Maethorion looked intently at the fire which cast eerie shadows on her face.
“So, how long has it been since your father told you?” he asked.
“I do not know. I don’t keep time, it is useless to me. I never grow weary or age.”
The men returned and they began to roast the boar they had killed. It was a merry gathering and Nieriel began to sing for them. Her voice was beautiful and it made the men feel warm and safe. They gathered quietly around the fire and listening gleefully to her.
“Ah! That was beautiful! Sing another one,” one of them said.
“It is late!” Maethorion teased.
“Alright, I will sing one more,” she said. She began slowly and quietly and then her voice began to rise and she sang right into the sky. The fire kept beat and she became lost in a world of her own.

Later that night, while everyone was sleeping, she crept off and stood watching the grass blowing over the field beyond. Maethorion came up behind her.
“I’m glad you told me what you did,” he said. “It would be a lonely plight to be alone in this world. I have often wondered if gods and goddess’s really existed. I suppose now I know.”
She laughed happily. “Yes, I suppose you do.”

The next day they traveled over the land. It was a dark day but the party was happy and light.
“So,” Nieriel said, “Tell me about yourself.”
“Oh, I am afraid that would take a very long time indeed,” he laughed. “I have been through many adventures, though I prefer to stay at one place, quite contrary to my brother,” he chuckled.
“Your brother? I don’t think you’ve mentioned him before.”
“Ah, yes! That is because he is off on adventures so much. I hardly see him anymore. But when I told him of our mission he was very much excited. He is very,” he stopped to think, “very lively,” he finished. They could hear laughter coming from the front of the band.
“Ah! Those were the days!” someone shouted.
“Did I ever tell you about the time I found that Kobalo? He was very tricky, but somehow I managed. We got along quite nicely until the night he tied my feet together. That was the end! That shall be the last time I entertain a Kobalo!” he laughed.
“So that is your brother?” Nieriel asked Maethorian quietly.
“Yes, that is my brother.”

“Hullo!” someone shouted. He fell back from the rest and walked alongside Nieriel. “I’m sure my brother has told you fully about me, but my name is Aidan!” he held out his hand to her. “Now, don’t believe everything you hear about me. He tends to exaggerate,” he winked. She laughed brightly.
“Well, don’t count on it!” she said. They walked on through the night, never stopping until the day began to wake up.

They found a cave along the bank of a river. It was small but it was warm and dark.
“Aidan, we will keep watch. You must get some sleep,” one of the men said.
“Why are you always telling me to sleep? I can last days without sleep!” he teased. He came walking into the cave and sat by the fire with Nieriel and Maethorion.
“How has it been living with Glandur and his sons?” Maethorion asked.
“Oh, it has been very pleasant, but I still miss my family. He is very kind though.” She began to laugh. “Calanon is much like you, Aidan,” she said. “He is very outgoing, lively, outspoken, loyal, and sometimes a bit rash. I wonder sometimes about Urúvion. He is so quiet. He is a warrior at heart.”
“Yes, he seems to be in a world of his own sometimes. I’m glad that they are treating you fairly.”
“Yes, I am very happy.” She looked into the fire. Soon, everyone was asleep and the day went on.

Rainion walked resolutely into Calmar’s room.
“Your majesty, there is something I need to talk to you about.”
“What is it?” Calmar answered.
“Well, I have been thinking about the plan for the Coronation Day I have come to the answer. I must go gather people from the lower islands. Wait,” he said, “I know what you are going to say. I know that we have already tried to gather people from the villages around, but I know that the people from the lower islands will come to our aid. My father had connections with them and they will listen. I have thought it out carefully. It will take me eight days to reach them and come back. I will be back two days before Coronation and I will take Meltoriel with me so that I will have someone with me, should something go wrong. If all goes well, I will bring back at least eight thousand strong.” He looked hopefully at Calmar.
Calmar stared up into his face. “What am I supposed to say? You have planned it out so carefully. Go then, if that is your wish.”
“Yes, I wish only to protect you and your country,” Rainion replied.
“Let me ask you something. Why are you so concerned about me? You came here from a decimated town and all you want is my safety. Does that not seem strange?”
“Calmar, it would seem strange to you. But please, do not worry. You are well looked out for,” he answered. Calmar just looked at him strangely.
“Perhaps before you leave I should know this secret you are keeping from me.”
“Please, don’t worry about it!” Rainion seemed to be getting anxious.
“I command you to tell me, now!” Calmar said.
“Alright, but do not blame me for it. I cannot help that it has been hidden from you so long. Truly, if it had been up to me, I would have told you right away.”
“Out with it!” Calmar said.
“You remember your mother?” he asked.
“Yes, what of it?” Calmar asked.
“Well, when she died, I was adopted by a wealthy family from the North. Father didn’t think he could take care of both of us and since you were heir to the throne, he sent me.” Calmar was silent.
“Why did no one tell me that I had a brother?” Calmar shouted. “I could have helped you! I could have made you feel like part of the family! I feel that I’ve been a terrible brother.”
“No! It wasn’t your fault. I should have told you sooner. But, I just couldn’t bring myself to break my promise to father. He wanted you to be happy and not to worry about me.”
Calmar got down on his knees. “Please forgive me,” he whispered.
“There is nothing to forgive Calmar,” Rainion replied.
Calmar looked at the floor. “Why didn’t father tell me? He has been hiding this for so long!” he said, choking down tears. He looked back up at Rainion. Yes, he did seem familiar. That was the memory he couldn’t quite remember.
“We used to play together didn’t we?” He asked.
“I suppose. Although I wasn’t old enough to remember much,” Rainion said.
“When did you find out about your adoption?”
“Father came and told me when I was almost twelve. He told you that he was going on a hunting trip, but he was really coming to see me. Of course, it all seemed so strange because I couldn’t remember him.”
“Yes, that would be strange. Mother died when I was six. That is why I can’t remember us playing together much.” Calmar became suddenly serious. “I can’t let you go off to the South, it would mean going beyond the known world. There is no guarantee that you will come back alive.”
“But Calmar! I want to! I know what I am doing, and I am perfectly aware that it might be my last adventure, but I do dearly want to do.”
The wind blew against the window. It was a bitter wind. The sky was a dark and vivid blue.
“It is a dangerous world out there, brother,” he said. “Would father really want you to go?”
“Calmar, father doesn’t care what I do, he never did care. It is up to you now,” Rainion said.
“Then, if you are sure about it, go. But first let us have a feast to celebrate your last day before your journey.”

“I must tell Meltoriel now,” Rainion said. “We shall see each other soon.” He left Calmar and walked slowly towards Meltoriel’s room. He knocked quietly on the wooden door.
“Come in,” came a small voice from inside. He opened the door into a cosy, lit room. The fireplace flickered contentedly and two chairs sat close to it.
“I have something to tell you,” he said.
“Alright.” She sat down in one of the chairs.
“I have decided to take a journey to the Southern Islands to reach any help we can muster. We need more soldiers. I wanted to ask you so that you would have a chance to come along. Of course you don’t have to,” he said. She thought carefully and looked intently into the fire.
“We are going where no one has ever been before and to people that we have never met.”
“How do you know about them then?” she asked.
“My father used to have connections with them, but that was long ago and I have heard many stories about them recently. Some people say that they aren’t even people, that they are ghosts from the past. Others say that they are a ruthless band. But nevertheless, they are our only hope. Are you with me?”
“If you deem this wise, then I will go with you through the darkest places,” she said. “When are we leaving?”
“Tomorrow. Remember, you don’t have to come. I won’t hold it against you if you don’t.”
“Rainion,” she said teasingly, “You don’t have to say that over and over. In fact, you don’t sound so sure yourself.”
“Yes, I suppose you’re right,” he smiled. “I’m sure it will go alright and we will be back in time for Calmar’s Coronation Day. We must not delay in the least. We have to be back before Winter Solstice. It is getting colder and if we get caught in the winter, there will be no forgiveness.”

They began to prepare and the feast was held in the King’s hall. Beer and rum was passed around and a general happiness was in the room. The cooks prepared a luscious meal of meat, mushrooms, potatoes, honey-cakes, beer, and mead. Calmar payed closer attention to Rainion. He was a kind and loyal man, always watching out for those around him. Calmar regretted the years that had separated them and made them strangers. Perhaps now he would be able to make up for the loss.
“I have had the cooks prepare you some food that you can take with you tomorrow. I hope you’ll be alright,” Calmar leaned over and whispered to Rainion.
“Now, don’t make me regret this decision. I’m sure I’ll be fine, thank you,” he chuckled. But his heart was ill at rest. Nothing seemed to heal that aching fear that settled on his soul. That night he lay in bed listening to the fire. He pulled out his notebook from under his pillow. He hadn’t written in it for years. The last entry was,

I feel left alone in this world. I don’t seem to belong. I wish I could live again with my real family. Why doesn’t father want to take care of me? Doesn’t he love me? Rainion stopped reading. A pulse came beating in his head. A terrible memory of sleeping in a dark room asking these questions to the walls. Doesn’t he love me? Doesn’t he love me? He tore out the pages and threw them into the fire. That time in his life was over. He had found his brother and he was finally somebody. He took the ink pen and began to write.  Alduya, Hisime, Yavieba. The night before I, Rainion, the Taur’ohtar, travel South to find help where I can. Perhaps this shall be the last night that I will be writing. I pray that I will return safely.

He closed the book and went to sleep.

The next day he got up early and packed a small satchel with some clothes, food, and knives. He looked in the mirror one last time. Meltoriel walked in. She had a long, dark green dress on and brown boots. Her hair was tied back with a dark ribbon.
“Are you ready?” She asked.
“Yes, I believe so.”
“Do you have the map?” she said.
“Ah, no,” he said slowly. “I don’t need the map.”
“You don’t need a map? Do you have any idea where we are going?”
“Yes, I know exactly where we are going. My mother was a Sylvan elf,” he finished.
“Oh, so you can see and hear things from far off? I have heard much of the Sylvan Elves. They travel light and know direction better then any other race. Is that so?” she asked daringly.
“Yes, but I am only partly Sylvan Elf you must remember,” he said. “Anyway, you are safe with me.” He smiled. “I will be done packing soon. You’ll want to say a farewell to your friends before we leave, if I know anything of women,” he smirked.  She smiled and left the room.

The day was still very young when they left. Rainion turned and watched as his brother bade him farewell. Perhaps this was the last time they would see each other.
“Fare well and think not of me. We will be fine,” Calmar said.
“I cannot help but think of you and the Southern Falls. It is home to me,” Rainion replied. The sky rumbled overhead.
“Make haste so that we may see each other before the Winter Solstice,” Calmar hastened.
“Goodbye!” the two travelers called over their shoulders. The road lay ahead, home was now far behind them.
“It’s going to be a lonely road,” Meltoriel sighed. “There nothing like having a home.”
“You are quite right,” Rainion agreed.
“Did you used to travel much?”
“Yes,” he began, “But now I’d rather settle down and stay in one place,” he smiled.
“So Rainion, tell me more about yourself,” she said.
“Well.” And he began the story.

The days continued on as the two traveled South. The days became shorter and and darker, if that was possible. Each night they would find a small gathering of trees or shelter to keep them from the rain. One night they found a small cave on the edge of a river.
“Ah! This is better then the tiny trees we found last night. I think I’ll actually be able to sleep tonight!” Rainion said, satisfied at their find.
“I better stay out here and keep watch. It wouldn’t be wise to have no one on guard,” she said.
“Then I shall be the guard. I will not hear it any other way.”
“But, I do not mind at all. Please, you need sleep,” she was fervent. Rainion thought it strange that she was so adamant about it.
He shook his head, “No, you shall sleep in the protection of the cave and I will wake you when it is your turn to keep watch.” She turned to gather firewood. The night continued on without event. The stars began to twinkle and a light shone weakly from the moon. They sat around the fire looking up into the sky.
“Rainion, there is something I must tell you,” she said abruptly. “It cannot wait.”
He turned and looked at her. “What is it?” he asked.
She struggled for words. “Somehow I always thought it would be easier to tell this to someone. When I was little I was not like you. I was a doer of evil and a seeker of darkness. My father was Tarole. We lived in the wild and wandered about. Of course, Tarole wasn’t at all like he is now. He was a regular person, but as his days drew to an end, he craved power and wanted something more. I was very young at this time and had not the knowledge of what he was doing to himself, and to me. I thought nothing of the strange way we lived. Slowly he began to change until I didn’t recognize him. My mother ran away one night, while we were living in a cave. I never saw her again and she was too afraid to come after me.” She stopped and stared quietly into the fire, remembering that night.
“I kept on living with my father, though I couldn’t stand the sight of him. But then I too began to change. I started craving the darkness the the caves provided. I followed and watched him murder helpless people and creatures. I was turning into an evil maniac. Then that was when I beheld her. She was so fair I could hardly stand to see her. Her name was Nieriel. I shall never forget her. She came in the night while my father,” she winced, “was away. She told me many things I did not understand at the time, but I have pondered them since. Then she held in her hand a phial filled with a reddish liquid. She poured it down my throat and whispered things in my ear. It was in a tongue I could not understand, but slowly I began to wake up. Nothing felt as beautiful as when I woke up and saw her there bending over me.” She looked up and smiled at Rainion. It was a radiant smile, one of pure happiness and beauty.
“We sat and talked long into the night.” The words came back to her, “On one knows where the roads will go or where they shall meet. You must follow them to find your destiny. It is a beautiful destiny, one that I would be loth to have you lose. Only time knows where the roads will lead you.”
Rainion sat in the dark thinking. Why hadn’t she told him before? “Did you not trust me?” he asked.
“I was afraid that you would leave me. You are the only one I have had since that night.”
He sat puzzling in the darkness.
He put his arm around her small shoulders.
“You shouldn’t have doubted me. I know how it feels to be left behind. I will stay with you no matter what,” he whispered. They sat together all night watching the sky flicker and shine.

The next day they prepared to move on. It was a cold brisk day. Rainion began getting the things together. Then he looked up and saw a single delicate snowflake cascade quietly to the ground.
“We are too late,” Meltoriel sighed.
“No, there is still time. We have six days left. We will make it.”

(Insert map)

The roads led on and on taking them farther and farther from home and closer to their destination.

The days became darker and the snow began to fall. Everyone looked out their windows expecting the travelers to come back. Smoke rose from the chimneys and people started preparing for the long winter ahead. The plans for Coronation Day had been set aside.

Tashur stared out the window dismally. The room was dark and the fireplace burned a dim light. Calmar laid in the bed unconscious of the world around him. Someone knocked on the door.
“Come in,” he said. Calmar’s son walked in.
“Father, I have something to ask you,” he said.
“He is sleeping, your majesty,” Tashur explained. “I think it would be best if you let him be. He is slowly leaving. It think it best not to disturb him.”
“He must be wakened some time! What are we to do for Coronation Day?” he asked.
“Perhaps he won’t last,” Tashur said quietly. “He tosses in his sleep as if something is haunting him. He is worsening.”
“Do you not know of the things that are happening out there!” Calmar pointed. “They are things that Calmar has stirred up and he must know about them!”
“No,” Tashur said bitterly. “I do not know of the things going on outside. I have been standing here as I have for months.”
“All you care about is letting him sleep! Does nothing else matter!”
“He was all I had when I came here! I was his guardian and still am. I am trying to do what is best! It is foolish for you to wake a man who is almost dead when there are men all around the city that can help you! I included. Do you think I enjoy standing in this corner watching him toss to and fro? Perhaps you could think of someone else besides yourself for once! I have been thinking of other people ever since I came here! I have been loyal to everyone!”
“You do not know of anything. You try to undermine my power and tell me what to do. You are jealous of my position!”
“You are an ill and untrusting man! To forget the things that I did for you when you were young. I was like a brother to you. To throw that away is something that I cannot abide,” Tashur finished.
“That corner is the only place for a betrayer and scoffer. I know I should not trust you,” Calmar muttered. He went over to Calmar’s bed and touched his shoulder.
“Father, I have something to talk over with you,” he said. His father jerked awake.
“Yes son,” he said feebly.
Calmar pulled something from his pocket. It was an old map of their village. “I want to talk about the arrangement of the soldiers on Coronation Day.”
“Yes,” he drifted off again.
“Father! Please, tell me what I should do,” Calmar said.
“He is not aware of you, Calmar,” Tashur said quietly.
“Oh, of course,” he answered mockingly. “Why is everyone against me!” Calmar shouted. He dropped the map and walked out of the room, slamming the door behind him. Tashur began to weep. Why was he staying? There was nothing to stay for. Love and friendship were no more. He went to Calmar’s bed and looked at him one more time. “I’m sorry Calmar. But this is what I must do,” he whispered. He picked up the map and walked out. He didn’t stop walking until he reached the Damarion Woods. It was dark and windy. Tashur pulled the map out of his pocket. It had the placement of the soldiers and army for Coronation Day. It was the perfect tool… He looked into the forest with searching eyes. Where were they? He wondered. He kept walking.

Leave a comment